Program board

prof. dr hab. Piotr Müldner-Nieckowski

Chair of the Program Board

A writer, literary critic, lexicographer, and physician. Piotr Müldner-Nieckowski graduated from the Academy of Medicine in Warsaw in 1971 and went on to defend his PhD in the field in 1982; he has worked as an internist for 47 years. In 2010, he was awarded a postdoctoral degree in linguistics with a specialization in lexicography and phraseology. He worked at the Wolski Hospital in Warsaw, where he managed an outpatient clinic (1970-93) and served as the editor-in-chief of Państwowy Zakład Wydawnictw Lekarskich (1983–86). In 1974, he was hired as a full-time teacher and researcher at the Medical Academy of Warsaw and later on as an associate professor at the Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw, where he headed the Department of Editing and Textual Criticism; he also founded and drew up the curriculum of the Postgraduate Editing Program , which he has run since 2001.

He is a member of the Phraseology Division of the Linguistics Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences. He has collaborated with or sat on the editorial boards of various research, arts and literature journals. He belongs to many literary and research groups, such as the Polish Medical Association, Warsaw Medical Association, Polish Linguistic Society, and the Polish Writers’ Union (until its dissolution in 1983). He co-founded (1989) and currently serves as the deputy head of the Polish Writers’ Association, where he also runs the Warsaw Creative Writing School. He is a member of the PEN Club.

He has authored literary and research works, hundreds of articles, and dozens of books, published in Polish and translated into foreign languages, including English, Serbian, Bulgarian, Slovak, and Swedish, e.g. poetry volumes: Namiot ośmiu wierszy [A Tent of Eight Poems] (1975), Ludzki wynalazek [A Human Invention] (1978), Wilgoć [Moisture] (1997), Za kobietą tren [A Threnody for a Woman] (2001), Opaska gazowa [Gas Brassard] (2004), Park [Park] (2011), Schody [Stairs] (2015), Igła [Needle] (a Polish-Bulgarian edition, 2018); short stories: Proszę spać [Please, Sleep] (1978), Raz jeden jedyny. 53 opowiadania z nieustannego stanu w. [Once and Only Once. 53 Tales from the Perpetual M. State] (2007); novels: Himalaje [The Himalayas] (1979), Śpiący w mieście [Sleeping in the City] (1983), Diabeł na placu Zbawiciela [The Devil of Savior Square] (1990); more than 70 radio plays broadcast on the Polish Radio and foreign radio stations, as well as published in a volume Piórko [Pen] (2007); treatises such as Frazeologia poszerzona [Advanced Phraseology] (2007), Biegański, Kramsztyk i inni [Biegański, Kramsztyk et alia] (a history of Polish medical ethics, 2016); and, last but not least, dictionaries: Wielki słownik frazeologiczny języka polskiego [A Great Dictionary of Polish Phraseology] (2003), Nowy szkolny słownik frazeologiczny [A Student’s Dictionary of Phraseology] (2004), Wielki słownik skrótów i skrótowców [A Great Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms] (2007). He has also had a book published about him: O twórczości literackiej Piotra Müldnera-Nieckowskiego [On the Literary Writings of Piotr Müldner-Nieckowski] (2018).

He has won numerous awards, including the First Degree Award of the Committe of Radio and Television for his radio plays (1990), numerous literary awards, a badge for “exemplary work in healthcare” (1984), a Janusz Korczak Medal (1985), a Medal of the Commission of National Education (2003). a C. K. Norwid Award (for poetry, 2012), a “Great Splendor” Polish Radio and Television Award for radio and TV plays (2013), and a Gloria Artis Silver Medal for Cultural Merit (2016).

Council members:

  • ATH dr hab. Mirosław Dzień, University of Bielsko-Biała, Deputy Director
  • dr hab. Zbigniew Chojnowski – University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn
  • dr hab. Dorota Heck – University of Wrocław
  • dr hab. Marian Kisiel – Univerity of Silesia in Katowice
  • dr hab. Wojciech Kudyba – Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University
  • dr hab. Dariusz Kulesza – University of Białystok
  • dr hab. Michał Januszkiewicz – Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań
  • dr hab. Dariusz Pachocki, prof. KUL – John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin
  • dr hab. Roman Bobryk, prof. UPH – Siedlce University of Natural Sciences and Humanities
  • dr hab. Katarzyna Szewczyk-Haake, prof. UAM – Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznań
  • dr Małgorzata Peroń – John Paul II Catholic University of Lublin